Meeting of Hungarian Mayors with 200 guests


Meeting of Hungarian Mayors with 200 guests

The ZalaZONE Automotive Proving Ground hosted the 28th Meeting of the Hungarian Mayors. The Mayor of the Year, Deputy Mayor of the Year and Town-Clerk of the Year Awards were presented at the event held in the ZalaZONE Conference and Event Center.

Since 1997, it has been a tradition to award the best city managers as a result of a public nomination. The Mayor of Zalaegerszeg received the Mayor of the Year Award twice, most recently Zoltán Balaicz in 2021. This time, the city of Zalaegerszeg hosted the event as an organizer.

At the beginning of the event, former minister Prof. Dr. László Palkovics delivered a presentation about the major recent developments in Zalaegerszeg, and then State Secretary Miklós Dukai spoke about the importance of local governments. Member of Parliament Bálint Nagy, State Secretary responsible for transport, highlighted the objectives of the Ministry of Construction and Transport.

Based on the national internet nomination, Tibor Szepesi from Karcág received the Mayor of the Year Award in 2023, and Ágota Hegedűs from Cegléd received the Deputy Mayor of the Year award. The Clerk of the Year award was given to Dr. Tibor Szalai, clerk of Budapest District II.

The winners received a linocut of the painting by the artist Endre Szász. In the hometown of the Mayor of the Year, in Karcag, two new EV charging points will be set up.

At the end of the ceremony, the guests attended a guided test track tour.

Photos: Péter Seres